Natural Stone/ Letter N

A big part of our Fall craft booth is my daughter’s stone jewelry display. She has been a ‘rock hound’ since she could walk and for her to be creating jewelry is no surprise to us. For me, the names always evade me. I recognize diamonds, opals and turquoise. After that I make no guarantees of recognizing stones. You get a 50/50 chance with me.  So for my sake as well as hers, I’ve decided to create a little lesson on stones using her jewelry as a guide. Maybe some of these names will ‘stick’ if I make this presentation.

il_570xN.199231033

Labradorite pendant

il_570xN.291587205

Australian Jasper(greenish stones)  and Magnetite disks. the remaining beads are glass pearls and spacers.

Notice the green doesn’t always mean they are the same stone. But both are equally pretty.  Kirsten explained in simplest terms to me that a way to tell the difference is that Labradorite has a shimmer when held at different angles whereas the Jasper is as is –No sparkle. The color “stays true” in the light.

il_570xN.206533826

This stone was mistaken for turquoise numerous times. It’s actually called Malachite. I really like the look of this one and maybe I’ll have to throw an hint for Mother’s Day?

Above you see the slab of Agate known for it’s stripes/striations. To the right is a died Quartz bracelet. You won’t find those stripes on a Quartz stone. Gold Rush fans learned that the presence of Quartz can be a telltale marker for finding Gold. But that’s a story for a different day 🙂

For more great A to Z blogs click here.

4 thoughts on “Natural Stone/ Letter N

Leave a Reply

